Finch Wins District 9 Title, Mead Also Moving On to Regionals

Photo courtesy Jared Finch. Ethan Finch won his second District 9 championship Saturday.

HYDE, Pa. – Sheffield’s Ethan Finch continued to pin his way through the season as he won all three of his matches by fall en route to his second career District 9 title Saturday.

Finch, who also won a D9 title as a sophomore, won’t be the only Wolverine heading to the Northwest Regionals at Sharon next week. Landon Mead finished third at 160 pounds to keep his postseason alive as well.

Freshman Chase Kyler finished his impressive debut season by taking fourth at 106 pounds.

Finch, now 24-0 on the year, opened with a 38-second pin over Brookville’s Ganen Cyphert in the quarterfinals. He followed with a second-period fall against Brockway’s Seth Stewart in the semifinals. In the finals, he faced off with Redbank Valley’s Hudson Martz, pinning him in 1:30. 

It’s Finch’s third trip to regionals.

Mead (15-10) opened with a first-period pin against Curwensville’s Chase Irwin in the quarterfinals. He battled into the third period in the semifinals against Brookville’s Wyatt Griffin before Griffin emerged with the pinfall victory. In the consolation semifinals, Mead earned a 5-1 decision against Clarion’s Caleb Edmonds. He punched his ticket to regionals with a 4-3 decision over Brockway’s Jack Smith in the third-place match.

Photo courtesy Jared Finch. Landon Mead took 3rd at the District 9 Tournament.

Kyler lost a 16-0 tech fall to eventual champion and the tournament’s Most Outstanding Wrestler Weston Pisarchick of Brockway in the semifinals at 106. He came back to earn a second-period pin over Curwensville’s Damian Brady in the consolation semifinals. Kyler’s freshman campaign came to an end when he was pinned by Redbank Valley’s Dan Evans in the third-place match. Kyler finished the year with an impressive 18-6 record and plenty to build on as he prepares for his sophomore season.

Photo courtesy Jared Finch. Chase Kyler finished 4th at the District 9 Tournament.

District 9 wrestlers will compete against each other, and the top grapplers from District 10 at next week’s Northwest Regionals. The top three from each weight class will advance to the Super Regionals.

Team and individual results from the District 9 Tournament follow:


1 Brookville 174; 2. Port Allegany 154; 3. Redbank Valley 140.5; 4. Johnsonburg 107; 5. Brockway 98.5; 6. Curwensville 95.5; 7. Kane 69; 8. Sheffield 60; 9. Clarion 29; 10. Ridgway 25; 11. Cranberry 24; 12. Coudersport 12; 13. Cameron County 4

Class AA

Championship Finals

106: Weston Pisarchick (Brockway) dec. Cayden Walker (Brookville), 5-1

113: Jake Carfley (Curwensville) pinned Ethan Illerbrun (Kane), 2:54

120: Owen Reinsel (Brookville) pinned Chase Weimer (Port Allegany), 1:24

126: Braedon Johnson (Port Allegany) pinned Mark Palmer (Brockway), 3:34

132: Trenten Rupp (Redbank Valley) major decision Ryder Kuklinskie (Curwensville), 10-1

138: Nolan Shaffer (Johnsonburg) dec. Harley Morris (Kane), 9-3

145: Isaiah Caden (Port Allegany) pinned Dalton Stahli (Johnsonburg), 5:10

152: Taro Tanaka (Port Allegany) dec. Kaden Dennis (Johnsonburg), 3-1

160: Cole Casilio (Johnsonburg) over Wyatt Griffin (Brookville)

172: Noah Bash (Brockway) dec. Jackson Zimmerman (Brookville), 5-4

189: Ethan Finch (Sheffield) pinned Hudson Martz (Redbank Valley), 1:30

215: Bryce Rafferty (Brookville) dec. Aiden Gardner (Redbank Valley), 8-4

285: Nathan Taylor (Brookville) pinned Justin Young (Port Allegany), 2:55

Third Place

106: Dan Evans (Redbank Valley) pinned Chase Kyler (Sheffield), :55

113: Cole Bish (Redbank Valley) dec. Jared Popson (Brookville), 7-0

120: Ridge Cook (Redbank Valley) pinned Alec Bechakas (Kane), 3:56

126: Nik Fegert (Curwensville) major decision Anthony Maiure (Cranberry), 13-4

132: Rayce Milliard (Johnsonburg) dec. Brecken Cieleski (Brookville), 7-2

138: Scott Fuller (Port Allegany) pinned Dylan Bash (Brockway) 

145: Logan Augehnbaugh (Curwensville) pinned Dalton Bish (Redbank Valley), 4:44

152: Luke Ely (Kane) dec. Coyha Brown (Brookville), 4-0

160: Landon Mead (Sheffield) dec. Jack Smith (Brockway), 4-3

172: Cutter Boggess (Clarion) pinned Isaak Baumgarner (Port Allegany), 4:46

189: Seth Stewart (Brockway) pinned Jake McCracken (Curwnesville), 1:57

215: Derek Kallenborn (Port Allegany) pinned Duane Brady (Curwensville), 1:11

285: Kobe Bonanno (Redbank Valley) pinned Jake Kunselman (Ridgway), 2:25


106: Cayden Walter (Brookville) pinned Dan Evans (Redbank Valley) :28; Weston Pischarick (Brockway) tech fall Chase Kyler (Sheffield), 16-0, 1:43

113: Jake Carfley (Curwensville) dec. Wyatt Shaffer (Johnsonburg), 7-5, TB2; Ethan Illerbrun (Kane) pinned Collin Brown (Sheffield) :17

120: Owen Reinsel (Brookville) pinned Cole Norlin (Johnsonburg), :48; Chase Weimer (Port Allegany) pinned Ridge Cook (Redbank Valley) 2:55

126: Braedon Johnson (Port Allegany) pinned Isaak Johnson (Kane) :30; Mark Palmer (Brockway) major decision Nik Fegert (Curwnesville), 11-3

132: Trenten Rupp (Redbank Valley) pinned Garrett Park (Brockway) :57; Ryder Kuklinskie (Curwensville) dec. Brecken Cieleski (Brookville), 3-2

138: Nolan Shaffer (Johnsonburg) pinned Dylan Bash (Brockway), :45; Harley Morris (Kane) dec. Josh Popson (Brookville), 4-0

145: Dalton Stahli (Johnsonburg) major decision Reece Bechakas (Kane) 11-3; Isaiah Caden (Port Allegany) major decision Dalton Bish (Redbank Valley), 11-0

152: Kaden Dennis (Johnsonburg) major decision Coyha Brown (Brookville) 14-6; Taro Tanaka (Port Allegany) dec. Luke Ely (Kane), 2-0

160: Cole Casilio (Johnsonburg) major decision Jack Smith (Brockway), 9-1; Wyatt Griffin (Brookville) pinned Landon Mead (Sheffield), 5:25

172: Noah Bash (Brockway) pinned Isaak Baumgarner (Port Allegany) 3:34; Jackson Zimerman (Brookville) pinned Cutter Boggess (Clarion), 1:44

189: Ethan Finch (Sheffield) pinned Seth Stewart (Brockway), 2:23; Hudson Martz (Redbank Valley) pinned Jake McCracken (Curwensville), :57

215: Aiden Gardner (Redbank Valley) pinned Gavin Ayers (Coudersport), 3:45; Bryce Rafferty (Brookville) pinned Derek Kallenborn (Port Allegany), 2:56

285: Nathan Taylor (Brookville) pinned Jake Kunselman (Ridgway), 1:38; Justin Young (Port Allegany) dec. Kobe Bonanno (Redbank Valley), 1-0