WCSD Seeking Public Input in Superintendent Search

November 23, 2023

RUSSELL, Pa. – As the search for Warren County School District’s next superintendent begins in earnest, the district is seeking public input to help determine the “leadership profile” for candidates.

The district released a survey link on Wednesday which allows participants to rank qualities such as leadership, adaptability, and parental engagement, based on importance. According to the survey introduction, these rankings will be used to help build a “leadership profile” the district can use to help rank potential candidates.

“A successful superintendency is often dependent on finding the right ‘fit’ between the district and the new superintendent,” the survey reads. “This is accomplished through defining the qualifications and experiences that are desired in the next superintendent of schools as well as the challenges, issues, and needs to be met by the district. PSBA refers to the collective list of these qualifications and professional attributes as the Leadership Profile.”

During its regular board meeting on Nov. 6, the WCSD Board of Directors elected to hire the Pennsylvania School Boards Association to assist the district in its search. Following committee meetings on Nov. 20, current and incoming board members met with PSBA search team members to discuss what attributes the board felt were most important.

Current superintendent Amy Stewart announced her resignation, effective March 1, 2024, in August. Stewart’s last day will come just three months after the school board undergoes a change in the majority of its membership.

Current board members Arthur Stewart, Jeff Dougherty, and Marcy Morgan did not seek reelection and Donna Zaricizny and Joe Colosimo did not garner enough votes to make it through the May primary election. Stewart and Zariczny have been on the board for 16 years, Morgan for 10 years, Colosimo for eight years, and Dougherty for two years.

The new board members, Tammi Holden, Stephanie Snell, Dan Sullivan, Savannah Cochran, and John Wortman, will officially join current members Paul Mangione, Cody Brown, Kevin Lindvay, and Mary Passinger during an organizational meeting on Dec. 4.

The survey can be found here.

Subscribe to our YouTube channel

Subscribe to our newsletter

White Cane Coffee presents Coffee & a Conversation

Don't Miss