Warren Wins High School Bowl Championship


JAMESTOWN, N.Y. ‒ Warren Area High School defeated Frewsburg Central School 72-35 to claim the 60th annual High School Bowl championship.

Warren finished with a record of six wins and no losses and will hold the High School Bowl trophy for the next year.

Kaden Kelly-Pojar, captain of the Warren team, was named ‘Player of the Match.’ The other starting players for Warren were Lydia Balas, Ashley Plank, and Devin Stover. The team also includes Shyann Rulander, Molly Suppa, and coach Jennifer Hanaway, a faculty member at Warren.

The SUNY Jamestown Community College Alumni Association will present one Warren student with a $1,000 annual scholarship for two years of college at JCC.

Frewsburg finished the season with seven wins and two losses. Team members competing in the championship were captain Veronica Nowak, Xander Pitts, Jacob Sears, and Erich Thompson. Other Frewsburg team members are Grace Gilevski, Ella Fuller, Lucas Torres-Carvella, Emma Golden, Landon Stromer, Kelson Laska, Nate Colley, and coach Shaun Laska, a Frewsburg faculty member.

The Chautauqua Region Community Foundation will present a $500 scholarship to a Frewsburg student.

The match was recorded at Jamestown Community College and broadcast recently on radio stations WJTN and SE-93 in Jamestown.

Twenty-one schools from Southwestern New York and Northwestern Pennsylvania participated in the 60th year of the tournament. Wendy Dyment, faculty member at Cassadaga Valley Central School, is the moderator of High School Bowl.

High School Bowl is a production of the Media One Group of radio stations in Jamestown. It is the longest-running competition of its type anywhere in the United States.

High School Bowl is sponsored by Jamestown Community College and the JCC Alumni Association, The Weinberg Financial Group, The Chautauqua County Humane Society, Pepsi, and the Chautauqua Region Community Foundation.