The Warren Dawgs beat Smethport 14-0. Photo by Mandie Englert.

Warren Dawgs Blank Smethport, Advance to Championship Game

October 10, 2022

SHEFFIELD, Pa. – The Warren Dawgs avenged an early-season loss to the Smethport Lil Hubbers, earning a 14-0 victory on Saturday.

With the win, the Dawgs remain perfect at home and advance to the championship game on Oct. 15 against Coudersport.

The Dawgs’ defense once again led the charge as they forced 3 turnovers and held Smethport to under 100 yards of offense on the day.

The Dawgs offense got off to an early start as running back Tanner Stuart had carries of 42, 35, and 10 yards in the first quarter. Stuart scored on a 35-yard touchdown run in the first quarter, running through at least three tackles en route to the endzone. Stuart caught a Connor Smith swing pass and juked a defender to get into the endzone untouched for the conversion.

In the second quarter, Stuart took a pitch wide right, stiff-armed a defender, and outran the rest of the defense as he went 65 yards for another touchdown. On the extra point attempt, Grant May took the pitch and made a perfect cut to get in for the score.

The Dawgs’ offense finished with 295 yards on the day, with 211 yards coming from Stuart. Owen Damcott added 48 yards rushing on two fourth-quarter attempts. Grant May had 14 yards rushing in addition to the extra point conversion. Collin Havers added 11 yards to the total, as well as several key blocks. Blake Peterson added six yards rushing and Oliver Drescher had 5 yards rushing. Connor Smith threw for 20 yards while operating the run-oriented offensive attack. Most of the offensive output came behind Harrison Horner, Brody Connolly, Johnathan Sullivan, Noah Pape, and Scott Skidmore along the offensive line, while also getting quality reps from Isaiah Cook, Owen Young, and Colton Hagg with the starting unit.

The Dawgs’ defense was led by Tanner Stuart’s 16 tackles and a first-quarter forced fumble. Jeremiah Lyon had nine tackles and combined with Clayton Hammerbeck (2 tackles) on a third-quarter sack. Hammerbeck had a fourth down interception in the third quarter, as well. Collin Havers posted seven tackles, followed up by Owen Damcott’s five tackles. Bentlee Moore had four tackles, while Blake Peterson, Chase Raub, and Wesley Stevens Jr. each had three tackles apiece. Nate Harris had two tackles, while Liam Frederoski, Hunter Ingerson, and Grant May had one tackle apiece. Grant May iced the game with a fourth-quarter interception. Ryan Hillard had a 4th quarter fumble recovery as the Dawgs’ defense forced miscues by the Smethport offense and sealed the win.

The Warren Dawgs and their stalwart defense advance to the championship game against the undefeated Coudersport Falcons on Oct. 15 in Coudersport as they look for retribution following a 2-0 loss in the regular-season finale.


Subscribe to our YouTube channel

Subscribe to our newsletter


White Cane Coffee presents Coffee & a Conversation

Don't Miss