Warren County Sports Hall of Fame Announces Newest List of Inductees

2021 Warren County Sports Hall of Fame inductee Fran Troyan.

After a 10-year hitaus, the Warren County Sports Hall of Fame has its newest list of inductees.

The next Warren County Sports Hall of Fame class will feature the following inductees that cracked the top-8 in voting for the living category, and the top-2 for the deceased category respectively: James Curren (Basketball), Hallie Bunk-Dubia (Golf, Basketball, Softball), Kelly Fredericks (Football), Aaron Lanzel (Cross-Country/Coaching), Ben Maljovec (Football), Ed “Wink” Rickerson (Baseball), Fran Troyan (Coaching), Jeff Zaffino (Bowling), Kelly Allen (Football), Andy Randas (Coaching), as well as The Cornerstone and Family Lounge (Organization).

“This is the largest electorate of all previous elections,” reported Jeff Bartsch, former Director, and present Board member. “Due to the long hiatus between induction classes, and the extremely strong group of nominees this year, the Hall is presently enjoying an unparalleled level of interest and enthusiasm,” he added.

“We are very excited to announce and induct (date yet to be determined) the first Hall of Fame class in over 10 years. We have put in a lot of work behind the scenes to make this happen, and it is great to hear so much positive receptiveness from the community,” states WCSHOF Director Nate Sandberg.

This year, there were exactly 450 voting members from 20 different states.

“We’re blown away by the response. The fact that we had so many voters from all corners of the country shows just how passionate Warren County is about its tremendous sports history. We are very humbled and grateful,” comments WCSHOF Secretary Andy Close.

Being nominated, let alone making the ballot is an accomplishment in itself. It shows that people value your athletic-related accomplishments and feel you should be recognized for them. This was one of the strongest (If not the strongest) list of nominees the Hall of Fame has ever seen. We hope that you will try again to make it into the Hall for the next class. Thank you for allowing us to put your name on this year’s ballot.