Photo courtesy Cleveland State athletics.

WAHS Alum Latimer Earns 2nd Team All-League Honors at Cleveland State

November 30, 2022

INDIANAPOLIS – One of the most decorated players in Warren volleyball history ended her collegiate career with another accolade as Cleveland State’s Lydia Latimer was named to the Horizon League All-League second team.

The All-League teams are selected by Horizon League coaches.

Latimer earned a spot on the All-League Second Team after spending the 2022 campaign as an integral part of the Viking front row. Latimer had 220 kills and a team-best 123 total blocks, while also notching 25 service aces.

Latimer’s 123 blocks rank her third among Horizon League players in total blocks and fifth averaging 1.16 blocks per set, while she ranked 10th in the Horizon League with a .267 hitting percentage on the year. Latimer tallied 10+ kills in 10 matches this season, while she recorded five or more blocks on 10 occasions.

Playing for Warren from 2014-2018, Latimer was a three-time All-State and All-Region selection and helped lead the Dragons to their first District 10 championship and the PIAA Class 3A silver medal in 2018. She also holds the program records for career kills (987) and blocks (234).

In her four years at Cleveland State, Latimer registered 364 kills, 38 aces, 155 digs, and 188 total blocks.

Latimer is the 32nd Viking all-time to earn All-League honors.

All-League First Team (alphabetical by school)
Calli Gentry, Green Bay
Alexandra Zakutney, Green Bay
Ari Miller, Milwaukee
Reilly Briggs, Northern Kentucky
Anna Burke, Northern Kentucky
Abby Kanakry, Northern Kentucky
Patti Cesarini, Oakland
Taylor Bransfield, Wright State
Callie Martin, Wright State
Jenna Story, Wright State
Lainey Stephenson, Wright State
Paula Gursching, Youngstown State

All-League Second Team (alphabetical by school)
Lydia Latimer, Cleveland State
Laken Voss, Cleveland State
Angie Gromos, Green Bay
Madi Malone, Milwaukee
Anna Brinkmann, Northern Kentucky
Josi Borum, Youngstown State

All-Freshman Team (alphabetical by school)
Karly Klaer, Cleveland State
Madison Olinger, Cleveland State
Laken Voss, Cleveland State
Natalie Schmitz, Milwaukee
Iris Riegel, Purdue Fort Wayne
Aaliyah Byers, Wright State
Abbie Householder, Youngstown State


Subscribe to our YouTube channel

Subscribe to our newsletter


White Cane Coffee presents Coffee & a Conversation

Don't Miss