Unofficial Results — Wortman Wins Mayoral Race; McCain, Michaels, Villella Win City Council Seats


WARREN, Pa. – May’s Primary Election turned out to be a fairly good indicator as Tuesday’s Municipal Election results mirrored those tallied six months ago, according to the unofficial numbers.

The unofficial results posted by the Warren County Elections Department late Tuesday night showed big wins for Republicans in several key races, notably for City of Warren Mayor and Warren City Council.

Turnout for the election in Warren County was just 31.21 percent, based on Tuesday’s results.

In the mayoral race, Republican David Wortman had 1,262 (66.45 percent) votes to Democrat Phil Gilbert’s 637 (33.54 percent), according to the unofficial results.

Much like the primary, the three GOP candidates vying for three seats on Council were separated by a razor-thin margin.

According to the results posted Tuesday night, Wendy McCain led all five candidates with 1,179 votes (24.02 percent), followed by Joe Michaels (1,117 votes/22.75 percent) and Jared Villella (1,113 votes/22.67 percent). Democratic candidates Doug Hearn (807 votes/16.44 percent) and Kim Exley (693 votes/14.12 percent) were fourth and fifth, respectively.

Hearn and Exley (filling the vacancy left by Christian Zavinski’s resignation) are current Council members.

In the other race for a Council seat, current Mayor Maurice Cashman-R had 930 votes (51.67 percent) to Aaron Stearns’-D 870 votes (48.33 percent).

These results, assuming they hold, would have McCain, Michaels, Villella and Cashman take seats on City Council alongside current Council members John Wortman, Greg Fraser and Paul Giannini with David Wortman as mayor.

In one of the few county-wide races, Lisa Burkhouse scored a big win over Kristy Phillips to become Register & Recorder. Burkhouse, a Republican, had 5,704 (71.16 percent) votes to Phillips’ 2,312 (28.84 percent).

Candidates for other county offices-Todd Woodin (Magisterial District Judge); Jennifer Phillips (Prothonotary/Clerk of Common Pleas Court); Rob Greene (District Attorney); Melissa Zydonik (County Coroner); and Brian Zeybel (Sheriff)-ran unopposed and did not have enough unresolved write-in votes to seriously threaten their candidacy.

While there were no contested races, the Warren County School District Board of Directors will be getting some new faces.

With two seats up for election in Region I, incumbent Paul Mangione garnered 1,708 votes while Cody Brown tallied 1,484.

Chloe Shaffer has enough votes (1,439), according to unofficial results, to overcome the 758 unresolved write-in votes for the Region II seat.

Mary Passinger ran unopposed for the lone seat in Region III and tallied 2,078 votes.

In the race for a seat on Sugar Grove Boro Council, Kevin Nicklas has an 18-vote lead over David Bauer, 124-106.

It’s still too early to call the Tidioute Boro Council race between David Michael Manning (133 votes) and Jonathan Brown (95 votes) as there are 200 unresolved write-in votes.

A mere 10 votes separated the three GOP candidates for Youngsville Boro Council. Eric Mineweaser led the pack with 248 votes, followed by Todd Lake (243) and Nicole Cowan (238). Catrina Leamon, the lone Democrat on the ballot, was fourth with 170 votes. All four will serve on council.

In the statewide judges’ races, Kevin Brobson-R led Maria McLaughlin-D by 110,000 votes for Justice of the Supreme Court. Megan Sullivan-R had a 261,000-vote lead over Timika Lane-D in the race for Justice of the Superior Court.

In the four-person race for Judge of the Commonwealth Court, Stacy Wallace-R leads the pack with 27.68 percent, followed by Drew Compton-R with 25.98 percent, Lori Dumas-D with 24.31 percent and David Spurgeon-D 22.03 percent.

Those totals represent unofficial results posted by the Department of State.