The Warren County Sports Hall of Fame inductees of 2022.

Nominations Now Open for 2024 Warren County Sports Hall of Fame

February 8, 2024

Nominations are now open for induction into the 2024 class of the Warren County Sports Hall of Fame.  

“We are anticipating a late-Summer 2024 ceremony. We have a very solid precedent to work off of from the previous ceremony in 2022. Anyone may nominate a worthy athlete, coach, official, or anyone who has made contributions to the betterment of Warren County Sports. In 2021, we had over 65 nominees from all 5 high schools (Warren, Tidioute, Eisenhower, Sheffield, and Youngsville) as well as 450 voting members from 20 different states and are hoping for a similar outcome. We the board are greatly humbled to recognize these Warren County athletes and athletic contributors and are excited for the next induction class” said WCSHOF director Nate Sandberg. 

The nominators do not have to be members of the Hall of Fame. Nominations are welcome from everyone and will be accepted immediately. The closing date for nominations is Friday, March 8th, 2024. 

How does one become eligible for the Hall of Fame? The nominee must be at least 30 years old and have been an outstanding athlete in either high school, college, amateur, or professional sports. Coaches, managers, officials, and administrators who have made a significant contribution to sports are also encouraged to be nominated. No age requirement is needed for deceased nominees. 

The nominees need not live in Warren, but their roots should be here. This means that the individual either lived in Warren County or participated in sports in Warren County. Their contributions to sports may be outside of Warren, but the individual should have a connection to Warren County. “We are unsure of the actual number of nominees we will be inducting. We will analyze the quality of the nominees and work from there.” 

Not every nomination will make the ballot or be inducted into the Hall of Fame. We will gather the nominations and take roughly 20-25 of them for the main ballot. 

The previous inductees are as follows: 

Class of 1993: Nick Creola Sr., Steve Eisenhauer, Joe Kulbacki, J.B. Leidig, Pat Madden, Joe Massa Sr., Ed O’Neil, Toby Shea, and Tom Tellman

Organization: Betts Foundation

Class of 1994: Greg Beardsley, Nick Creola Jr., George “Ace” Hesch, Peter J. Juliano, Carl “Perry” Linborg, Bill Meade, Bill Moniak, Gail Nelson, G. Reid Pierce, and Reuben “Rabbit” Swanson

Organization: Blair Corporation

Class of 1995: John Bowen, Chuck Daly, Joe Frisina, Jim Gibson, Kim Mong Main, Sally O’Leary, Dan O’Neil, Marry “Rosey” Rosequist, Tony Ross, and Dick Thompson.

Organization: National Forge Company

Class of 1996: Pam Bonadio Dore, R. Mark Evans, Myron Jewell, Arthur Johnson, Rick Johnson, Robert H. Lind, Norge Luvison, Ralph Santo, and Dave Walters.

Organization: Sheffield Sports Boosters

Class of 1997: Robert Benson, Tom Creola, Anne Fitzgerald, Dan Petchel, Ted Shattuck, Dave Steffan, Paul Steinkamp, and Tony Tomassoni.

Organization: The Jones Chevrolet Family

Class of 1998: Michael Cashmere, Jeff Erickson, Homer Fleming, Bob Hammerbeck, Harold Kiser Jr., Kurt von Kleist Jr., John W. (Jack) Swanson Charity Weissinger, and Willard Zerbe.

Organization: Blueberry Hill Golf Club

Class of 2000: Ronnie Blackmer, Carl Falvo, Tommy Gerarde, Lee Goldwaite, Gerg Latimer, Robert “Red” Lytle, Bud Matthews, Richard Pascuzzi, Carl Seeker, Raymond Sorenson, and Joe Wozneak.

Organization: Warren Sports Boosters

Class of 2001: Jeff Bartsch, Wayne “Lefty” Check. Joe Fazio, Randy Graves, Joe Kelly Mike Phillips, and Keith Vesling.

Organization: PA State Fishing Tournament

Class of 2003: Ed Benedict, J. Dennis Engstrom, David Fehlman, Tim Latimer, Lucille Leathers, Emory Mahan, Steve Massa Sr., Monte Scott, and Julie (Firth) Torbett

Class of 2004:

Class of 2006: John “Nonny” Castagnino, Tony Ferra, Buster Godden, Travis Godden, Jim Hoffner, Seth Meyers, Don Mohney, Larry Persing, Paul Pollack, Roy Swanson, and Father Rick Tomasone

Organization: 1964 Athletic Field Lighting Group

Class of 2008: George Becker, Dr. Ross Bryan, Mary Conarro, Conrad Danielson, Pete Fanaritis, Joe Farr, Walt Fredericks, John Imperial, Matt Kiser, Jennifer Lopus Madril, Jim Miller, Steve Norris, Tim & Todd Nyquist, and Jim Scott.

Organization: Allegheny Outdoor Club

Class of 2010: Adam Bartsch, Nikki Bailas Harrison, Cliff Betts, Thomas (Tim) Creal II, Tom Firth, Nancy Hillard, Dean Johnson, Jake Kingston, Sue Martin, Wayne Schmader, Tony Scordo, Julie McChesney Stiles, Jonathan Myler, Tim Sabella, and Steve Witte.

Organization: Warren/ Forest County Chapter of PASR

Class of 2021: James Curren, Hallie (Bunk) Dubia, Andy Randas, Fran Troyan, Kelly Allen, Kelly Fredericks, Aaron Lanzel, Ed “Wink” Rickerson, Jeff Zaffino, and Ben Maljovec. 

Organization: Cornerstone Lounge and Family Restaurant

Any suggestions on worthy teams or programs may be sent to the committee as well. Any questions may be directed to anyone on the WCSHOF board of directors to include Director Nate Sandberg, Jeff Bartsch, Amy Sandberg, Andy Close, Amy Willsie, Rick Johnson, Jon Sitler, Dave Sherman, and Bruce Williams

Nominations can be submitted by either filling out the provided nomination form or printing out the form on the Facebook page: Warren County Sports Hall of Fame. 

Please mail the letter to: Warren County Sports Hall of Fame, P.O. Box 61, Warren, PA. 16365. For questions regarding nominations, please either email [email protected], contact any board member, or message the Facebook page ‘Warren County Sports Hall of Fame.’


Subscribe to our YouTube channel

Subscribe to our newsletter


White Cane Coffee presents Coffee & a Conversation

Don't Miss