Photo courtesy Jeff Parkin

2021-22 Player Profiles: Riley Childress, Warren Powered by Potter County Family Campground

July 7, 2021 is highlighting returning high school student-athletes this summer. The year in school listed next to the athlete’s name is the year the athlete is entering this fall.

Full List of 2021 Player Profiles


Parents Names: Stacy and Red Childress
Sports Played: Basketball
Siblings: Taylor Childress
Family Members Playing/Played High School/College Sports: Taylor (Class of 2020) also played basketball for the Dragons.
Social Media Handles: Twitter – @rileychildress3 Instagram – @riley_childress@ Snapchat – @rileychildress1
2020-21 Highlights: 14 ppg, 2 rpg, 5 apg, and 3.5 spg, co-player of the year for my team, first-team All-District 10 and 2nd team All-Region
College Athletics plan if applicable: Yes, I plan to continue playing basketball, not sure where yet though

Q&A With Riley Childress

D9and10Sports: How did you first get involved in sports and did you like it?
A: My parents signed me up for every sport and I loved them. I decided to focus on basketball in 7th grade

D9and10Sports: Who has been your biggest influence in life and why?
A: My sister Taylor, has influenced me the most in life because she has shown me what a true best friend is like and not to settle for anything less than the best. She also has taught me how to stand up for myself. Lastly, she continues to influence me to be a better person every day.

D9and10Sports: What is your favorite high school sports memory?
A: I have two favorite high school memories either beating Villa freshman year or Emma (Ruhlman’s) free throws to win us D10 last year!

D9and10Sports: What is your favorite social media platform and why?
A: My favorite social media platform is definitely Snapchat! you can do so much there send pictures and funny videos text your friends and see what everyone else is up to!

D9and10Sports: What would someone who is meeting you for the first time be surprised to find out about you?
A: I have been to six countries Canada, Mexico, Costa Rica, Jamaica, Spain, France

D9and10Sports: If there was one period in history you could go back to, what would it be and why?
A: I would travel back to the 1960s because that was a big time for the Civil Rights movement, the first moon landing, and it was a decade for protests about war. It would be so cool to be a part of what impacted the world to what it is today!

D9and10Sports: What will you tell your kids someday about living through the COVID-19 pandemic?
A: I would tell them that it was like nothing they will hopefully ever have to deal with. It was such a big change in the world. I would also tell them to value family because one diagnosis of the virus could cause them to lose a family member. The biggest impact was on sports and activities you wanted to do.

D9and10Sports: What is your ideal place to live? Country, City, Suburb and why?
A: My ideal place to live is definitely the suburbs. I grew up in Warren where there is nothing to do except go to the dam. Living in the suburbs would give a country feel but also have opportunities for them to have fun and do more things!

D9and10Sports: Is there anything you wish we would have asked you? If so, what is the answer?
A: Maybe about what I’m most excited about for my sports season! that would be winning D10 and being the best senior leader I can.

Subscribe to our YouTube channel

Subscribe to our newsletter

White Cane Coffee presents Coffee & a Conversation

Don't Miss